The Big Idea: Nicholas Kaufmann

The sound of a promising book! Will have to keep an eye out for that…after I finish the other 1700 pages of the current series I am reading…

Whatever

Authors are inspired by great works of art. But is it also possible to be inspires by… not-so-great art as well? Nicholas Kaufmann would argue it is, and explains how a throwaway bit in a B-movie ultimately inspired his latest novel, Dying Is My Business. 

NICHOLAS KAUFMANN:

I think anybody would be hard pressed to argue that Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger is the best of the Ray Harryhausen Sinbad trilogy. Sure, it’s a passable and occasionally thrilling adventure, but it’s no 7th Voyage, or even Golden Voyage. (Although it does feature a post-Doctor Who Patrick Troughton, so it definitely has that in its favor!) And yet, the film’s influence on Dying Is My Business is enormous in ways I didn’t recognize until late in the process. Believe me, no one was more surprised than I was!

In the novel, magic is a natural…

View original post 712 more words

About DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

